Skip to content

Hatband!

June 12, 2011

I did it! I created a pattern, measured warp out of strong crochet cotton in red, burgundy, black and ecrue, and used my new backstrap to help me weave a hatband!

I am inordinately pleased with myself, though the technique is not exactly new to me. After all, I have already created patterns for the inkle loom for threaded-in design bands (usually nine-foot-long belts). And I have woven a few bands (belts and leg-wraps) with tablet-weaving using a backstrap (well, an old belt…). It’s the combination that is new, the equipment being a bunch of sticks, and the tension instantly variable, upon demand.

Now I suppose you want a photo?

Hatband from the backstrap

Hatband woven on the backstrap

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

